Movimientos - Tropicalista mix and best of 2012 Thu, 2011-12-15 18:28

Movimientos – Tropicalista mix and best of 2012

Cal Jader presents a rundown of some of the hottest dance floor joints from this year with a special best of 2012 (tracks, gigs, labels etc) programme. Some shamelessly upfront hits from some of the biggest names in latin music Oscar De Leon, Juan Luis Guerra, Gloria Estefan and Gotan Project to plenty of underground tropical bass, Moombahton, Cumbia mash ups, Salsa and Timba plus big ups to consistently good independent labels like Electric Cowbell Records, Agogo Records, Bersas Discos and Urban World Records.

All up in the mix up for a special Tropicalista mixtape selection to tie in with our big New Year?s Eve fiesta. For details of our NYE party at Rich Mix alongside Hackney Globe Trotting?s Russ Jones & Batmacumba see here>> http://www.movimientos.org.uk/NYE-New-Years-Eve-Party-Tropicalista.html

Tracklisting and award categories?.

*Best compilation by Movimientos! Oscar De Leon ft Tego Calderon ? Llamame Taken from Beginners Guide to Latin America on Nascente Records

*Best Mash up Calle 13 / Caf? Tacuba – No hay Nadie como Tu vs various – Coca No *Best Swingy Brazilian tune
DJ Farrapo & Yanez ? Mojito com Cachaca (Agogo Records) http://www.agogo-records.com/en/releases/dj-farrapo-yanez-mojito-com-cachaa.html

*Best Tango album remixed by Cumbia Artists Gotan Project ? Triptico (Frikstailers remix) Taken from La Revancha En Cumbia on Ya Basta Records

*Best Chicha tune remixed in Bhangra style Los Chinches ? La Serpiente Negra (Matthew Picchu?s Bombay mix) Taken from the forthcoming EP on Movimientos Records

*Best Moombahton featuring Celia Cruz Gonzalez and Gonzalo – Cuban Queen (Sabo’s Moombahton edit) Taken from Moombahton Massive V Free download at http://soundcloud.com/solselectas/sets/moombahton-massive-v-ep

*Best Moombahton not featuring Celia Cruz Daniel Haaksman ? Puerto Rico (Neki Stranac remix) Free download at http://soundcloud.com/daniel-haaksman/daniel-haaksman-puerto-rico-1

*Best Timba act not based in Cuba Timba Live ? Arriba Tu Gozas Mas
http://www.timbalive.com

*Block rocking Salsa remix of the year! Nene Vasquez ? Salsa Del Alma (Mo Horizons Restyle) Taken From the album ?Agogo Makes the World Go Round? on Agogo Records http://www.agogo-records.com

*Best album of Rumba covers of classic funk disco tracks Banda Achillifunk ? Bad
(Taken from the album ?Gitano Real? on Lovemonk Records) http://lovemonk.net/2011/04/banda-achilifunk-ojo-gitano-real/

*Best vinyl record label Silbando (Greenwood Rhythm Coalition remix) (Taken from the album ?101 Things to do in Bongolia? on Electric Cowbell Records) http://www.electric-cowbell.com/

*Best excuse for a radio show to promote a new album Gloria Estefan ? Heat

*Best global bass Record Label Los Chicos Del Alto ? Pa?Lante (Thykier Remix) Taken from the EP Pa?lante on Urban World Records http://www.urbanworld.nu/

*Gig of the year that Cal missed (tell us ? was it good?) Juan Luis Guerra ? La Traversia

*Best Mash up of Baile Funk and Champeta Isa GT ft Edu K ? Funketa Taken from the EP http://www.isagt.com

*Best Baile Funk by non Brazilian artist Chito Rock ? ? Papa Del Funk

*Best Remix La Makina Del Caribe ? Maki Man (AJ Holmes remix) Forthcoming on La Chusma Records http://www.soundcloud.com/chusma-records/maki-man-aj-holmes-the-hackney

*Best experimental electro-Puya jam band Cabilde Muerto ? El Fantastico Mundo Del Extrano Zue

*Best ?indie? Salsa album of the year Bio Ritmo ? Carnaval Taken from the album on Electric Cowbell http://www.electric-cowbell.com/

*Best Cumbia Remix of digi Dub Soom T – Ganja Ganja (Rafa Caivano remix)

*Best new Cumbia mash up DJ Negro – Sabor A Gaita Taken from Bersa Discos no. 7

*Best Muevete guest DJ ? Karamel (Globoloco) Choice selection Magic Jam Orchestra – Ragga Samba (Lionhead Recordings)