Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/soasradio/public_html/wp-content/themes/soas/header.php on line 2150

A World in London 194 - Nii Okai Tagoe Thu, 2016-07-21 12:41

One of our favourite CDs released this year via ARC Music is West To West by Nii Okai Tagoe, so we were thrilled to have him in the studio, alongside co-producer and talented music-maker Molara Awen. Although Nii’s roots lie in Ghana, his second solo album reflects his pan-African outlook following the dance trail across the entire continent! His musical journey began in Accra with his family of master drummers, and at the tender age of 16 his calling to London came via the Adzido dance group. Dancer, drummer, philosopher, and musician, Nii’s many skills have embraced and enhanced bands like African Head Charge, Baka Beyond, and legendary UK outfit Osibisa which he now runs. In West To West you’ll hear the sum of all these parts – traveller, visionary, dancing-drums personified, eloquent songwriter that respects tradition and the natural world, but most of all, you’ll hear a gentle spirit with global perspective that has truly lived a life in music.

More info at:


ARTIST                                  TRACK                                                   COUNTRY

Hossam Ramzy           Sabla Tolo IV                          Egypt/UK

Alexander D. Great   Calypso Warriors                    UK/Trinidad

Graveola                    Indio Maracana                     Brasil

Mosaic                         Sorsonet                                  Poland

Richard Bona             Cubaneando                          Cameroon/Cuba

Dele Sosimi + Prince Fatty     Dance Together         UK/Nigeria

Zarbang                     Cycling Feast                          Iran

Nii Okai Tagoe           Nyungmbo                             Ghana/UK

‘           ‘                       Oh Nu Kpa                             ‘           ‘

‘           ‘                       Moni Sane Yemi                     ‘           ‘

‘           ‘                       3 Monkeys                               ‘           ‘

‘           ‘                       Moni Ley                                 ‘           ‘

‘           ‘                       Sumo Eh-ngo                          ‘           ‘